Arboretum-Spiker Park

Canton, Ohio     1 course · 24 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +5 votes  + Michael Stonestreet › April 19, 2011
A-
The course is fairly open, but has water in play on 1/3 of the holes. Two tee pads per hole, and withing the next couple years hopefully 2 pin positions for each hole. The course is pretty well maintained, but not perfect, can always use some work no matter what course you play, there is always something that can be done to improve the aesthetics of any course. Course is very popular and gets alot of use. Holes 4 and 6 are the only holes with alternate pin placements for now, 4 is extremely diff ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Cory King › October 20, 2010
A-
My local course, and one I play at the most. Plenty of holes, good flow, and great scenery. Each hole is unique and the course provides for a nice assortment of different shots. Biggest drawback would be old baskets, but they still function just fine.
-  +4 votes  + Matt O › June 25, 2011
A
Really nice variety of holes. Easy course to navigate. Some of the baskets are older, but not in too bad of shape. The excellent selection of discs at the nearby Quonset Hut is an added bonus.
-  +3 votes  + John Sales › April 15, 2011
A-
I give this course 4.5 out of 5 stars. Pros - Plenty of parking at hole #1 with a pavilion for gathering - The entrance is well marked by the disc golf course sign - The billboard provides a lot of information and also has boxes for scorecards and comments. You can tell that the people who maintain this course really care and put a lot of effort into it. - The map was very accurate and helpful. #6 long tee could be added to it though. - Practice basket with round the world game - Two ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Troy L › November 8, 2010
A-
id rate it even higher if they had newer baskets, great course, def would recommend checking it out if u havent before.
-  +2 votes  + Greg Marsh › September 12, 2011
A+
Newly added pin locations make this course seem like a brand new one.
Awesome job and I can't wait to see more alternates!
-  +2 votes  + Michael Berube › September 13, 2011
A
First time playing this course with the new basket placements. It definatly added some strokes. Longer and more challenging holes. Should have kept 10 long but I do like all the new trees!!! Nice Job!!!!!
-  +2 votes  + Dave Foster › October 13, 2011
A-
-  +2 votes  + Matt Smith › April 28, 2012
B+
Wide open and a lot of fun. This is a great course for all skill levels. Worth the drive for sure. Trees come into play on a few holes.
-  +2 votes  + Jamie Hodgen › May 22, 2012
A-
-  +2 votes  + Chris Warfield › October 7, 2012
A
Great course!
-  +2 votes  + Tammy Spencer › September 16, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Tom Randau › August 25, 2011
A+
I love this course & love the new baskets and positions!!!!!!!!!!!!
-  +1 votes  + Dan Davis › November 3, 2010
B
Great course to go out and release your stress.Very forgiving fairways, nice easy walk through a beautiful park/neighborhood. The ponds and baskets need some attention. As the sport of disc golf evolves, there will always be changes and I hope to make them for the better. With long and short tees, I would give the short tee's a c+ only because getting 2's is fun, there is not much challenge besides the wind and almost 30 year old baskets. I give the long tees a b+ because the shear distance of ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Rory Tiedemann › March 27, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + mikey "the lil guy" stonestreet › April 15, 2011
A+
-  +1 votes  + Dave D › May 28, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Kermit Beaver Jr. › March 8, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Brad Presutto › June 25, 2011
A+
Pros - Open and wooded holes
Cement tees
Well marked
Scorecards and map available
24 holes being expanded to 37
All sorts of shots hard right, hard left, water hazards

Cons - Muddy after rain
Easy to lose discs to the drink
Long drive from Cleveland

By far my favorite course I've ever played.
-  +1 votes  + tony paserba › August 30, 2011
B
some of the new placements are bad
-  +1 votes  + charlie arnold › October 11, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Detroit Dan › September 27, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Banks › November 21, 2011
B
Fun course new pins make it a challenge!
-  +1 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester" › July 5, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Matt Dungan › May 6, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Chip F › June 10, 2012
A
A great course for ripping long drives.
-  +1 votes  + Chris Woolsey › June 11, 2012
A
Very nice course, they moved all the odd number pin locations though which I don't care for, but still my second favorite course behind Roscoe Ewing (Medina)
-  +1 votes  + Ricky Lutz › July 5, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Justin VanderSanden › July 11, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + jeff gayhart › August 5, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Tim Mc › August 13, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + cory rockich › August 29, 2012
A
a challenging lengthy course. nice wide open shots give you plenty of drive practice. overall a great course.
-  +1 votes  + Adam Moser › October 6, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Mitchell Sintic › September 13, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + Steven Cain › September 21, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Dominic G › October 14, 2012
A-
I have nothing bad to say about this course. Its not the best or most fun to play but its very solid all the way around. Concrete tees, multiple pin placements, well groomed, and a variety of shots. Bigger arms have an easier time. There's a few pretty long holes. Its a well laid out course and the park department keeps it in great shape.
-  +1 votes  + Becky Caszatt › October 15, 2012
C
-  +1 votes  + Brian Jeffers › November 18, 2012
A
Excellent course. Very wide open for those looking to let it rip! Beginners beware of the water, you will most likely not get your disc back if it goes in.
-  +1 votes  + Jared Heberling › November 28, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Tristan McBride › August 9, 2013
A
I really like this course. The water is the only thing I don't care for.
-  +1 votes  + Douglas Simon › May 19, 2015
A-
Great course to play a great game. Best layout of holes that I have seen thus far.The water adds greatly to this course and it makes you a better player also. The staff does a great job maintaining, but players need to help out by throwing their garbage in the cans provided.
-  +1 votes  + Anthony Tomin › May 22, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Phil Hootman › June 8, 2013
A
The first time I played this course I didn't really love it all that much. It was a really windy day and I played by myself...didn't really know the layout of the course. I played it for the 3rd time yesterday and I have to say that this course is really sweet. The water hazards are scary but fun. I lost a disc in the pond toward the end of the course (hole 22 or 23 I think) but it added a kind of "high stakes" excitement ya know. Lot's of fun.
-  +1 votes  + Allen Graves › June 3, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Scott Campbell › June 4, 2013
A
Historic course. It has a great variety of holes, some of my favorites I have ever played. Great course to go to if you want to throw some big bomb drives.
-  +1 votes  + Drew Dieter › July 16, 2013
B
Nice long course if you need to work on your drives. Other than that its the same thing hole after hole. Very well maintained though! First time players might find this course a little confusing. I watched several groups stumble around while i was there. all in all, it was not bad. I will be back. :-)
-  +1 votes  + eric " Sharky " boyd › July 30, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + James Orth › August 16, 2013
A
nice open course like the long and short basket placements
-  +1 votes  + Tristan Wilson › August 8, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Lee Spencer › September 26, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Glenn Burtis › September 5, 2013
A-
Always a treat, never disappointed with this course
-  +1 votes  + Ben Calhoun › September 9, 2013
A-
This is a solid, tournament level course. Dual cement tees on most holes. Even with good signs, it can be confusing at times (played it before), especially when playing the long tees- alt/long tees themselves unmarked so you have to sort of figure them out, and often walk up to the short to figure out the hole/length etc.
Well designed holes, if you can throw 400ft accurately you can own the long tees, open shots defined by trees and curves, hills, water, o.b.
-  +1 votes  + Jesse "Scoop" Santiago › October 23, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + brian a › March 10, 2014
A+
canton is a great course. alot of open area. very forgiving on bad drives.about 5 holes are around water so bring your water discs. great variety of shots with wide open fairways on most holes. baskets are in pretty good condition and course is kept up all year long. this is definitely the best course to take out new discs and see how they fly
-  +1 votes  + Isaac Lilly › June 23, 2014
A
Pants down, one of my favorite courses in Ohio. Perfect set up of Bomb drives and technical holes. Great multi-tee and pin locations. I would love to play through without rain sometime, but I love it regardless. Plays to the aptitude of rhbh rhfh lfbh lhfh. I've played it with vets and noobs and everybody enjoys it.
-  +1 votes  + Chuck B › September 11, 2014
A-
Loved the layout. Felt like a real golf corse with lots of dog legs . Almost all tee shots were blind of the hole . Had to carry water and other hazards on multiple tee shots . I would have rated this course a A but I found the navigation between holes not clearly marked . In particular between holes 5 and 6
-  +1 votes  + Jonathan Sprouse › May 30, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + scott peterson › July 8, 2015
A
Elevation changes and multiple teepads give you a large degree of difficulty swing for any level. Very well groomed when i was there. Many lines and mandos let you work all aspecta of your game. You got distance and shorts. Love this course.
-  +0 votes  + Jay Kovach › October 5, 2012
B+
New baskets, a second course layout that makes you jones to want to play it. Good job to all involved.
-  +0 votes  + james moose graham › September 8, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Lepley › June 25, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + peter kunoff › July 29, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Theo C › July 24, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Don Mullinax › August 23, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + john holmes › March 5, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Brahler › April 11, 2015
B-
The course is great, but the water at the Spiker park is a serious health issue in my opinion, this is a great course and maybe it's time to just take that water out of there just the sight and smell of it made me want to vomit, but I can't hold that against the the course, that is the government agency who is responsible for the park to be responsible for that.
-  +0 votes  + Greg Platt › June 17, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › July 27, 2012
B+
well maintained course. good use of the land (and water), but the flow felt a little off. a few baskets were a little close to other baskets, and not marked all too well, making for a difficult round. we had to walk up on the majority of pins just to know where they were at, and sometimes in what postion. and for being a fairly open course, it's pretty damn difficult. seemed to be a lot of shots favoring lhbh throwers, so if you're a right, and your anhyzer shot isn't working, you could be ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Matt Hill › May 19, 2015
B
-  +0 votes  + Kris Keyes › February 7, 2013
B+
I think the course is great. This is my home course and I play it all the time. The drawbacks are: 1) There's not much variation from hole to hole. It's mostly just long bombs. It's great to work on your drive distance, but doesn't help with technical shot growth. 2) This can be a positive or a drawback - the multiple pin positions. It can be fun because it adds challenge to the course. It can be frustrating because there is no indication that the pins have changed and you can play expecting the ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Chris Jett › July 27, 2015
A
This course is extremely challenging more for intermediate to advanced players due to technicality and possibility to lose disc's. This course is always well maintained the only down side is the smell from the ponds. I like playing this course as much as possible.
-  +0 votes  + Chris Mahaffey › May 25, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + DETROIT J › July 23, 2013
B
Good course to crush some drives , as well as choke up and use placement shots . Well manicured pretty course with a few water hazards . Play this one if you cant play Oaks Ledges :-)
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Saylor › June 3, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mike Morrison › August 18, 2014
B+
The best course in the Canton Area, 24 holes leaves for a lot of play! Lot's of very nice holes, and well kept course! It sits in a very large park that is not used much for things other than DG. Very difficult course, but only because i don't have the longest drives and this course is all about distance. You can forgo a lot of accuracy as long as you can rip it deep here. Lots of chances to lose discs as well, as about 1/.3 of these holes are water. Lots of challenges! I resisted giving ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Dustin Alcorn › February 15, 2015
B+
I enjoy the Arb. Alt pins are cool. Personally I wish all the pins would be either all short or all long. The course tests all aspects of your game. This was the first course I ever played and what got me hooked on disc golfing. It's a fair course with ace runs and technical holes. The ponds need some TLC so people can get discs back without smelling like a sewer when they get out. 16 & 17 also needs so TLC with the creek area when it rains it's terrible. sloppy
-  +0 votes  + Mike Chuirazzi › May 4, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Tony Rawley › June 19, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Scott Horrisberger › July 5, 2015
B+
Nice course offering long and short holes, challenging hyzer/anti throws, but not a beginner course unless you have deep pockets for new disks or high boots. All tee pads are concrete, but the signs were not always clear on current basket locations. There are some great holes for all skills, but the water hazards and the dense wooded areas are unforgiving to beginners and novices that are trying to learn the game.
-  +0 votes  + James Gratz › July 6, 2015
B-
-  -1 votes  + Trevor Murphy › October 9, 2012
C-
-  -1 votes  + Jessy C › October 30, 2013
C
Not an interesting course or inspiring environment. I appreciated that a basket was dedicated to the fallen young soldier, but not much else. I felt let down by this one, given the large amount of very positive reviews; I took a trip to the area, checking out four local courses today, and this one was the only one I didn't love. Maybe good for people who enjoy grass; it would be better as a traditional golf course.
-  -2 votes  + Dustin Farrell › January 10, 2013
A
-  -2 votes  + justin morton › May 24, 2011
B
-  -2 votes  + John Pellegrino › July 5, 2011
B
-  -3 votes  + Dan Hill › February 8, 2011
B+