Alum Creek State Park

Galena, Ohio     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Eric CherryThe Players Course › October 1, 2010
A-
Beautiful course, many signature type holes. 7 and 16 (the "island" green) come to mind. Good mix of hyzer/anhyzer and technical/blaster holes. Alternate tee pads were non existent or poorly marked. Underbrush largely cleared but plenty of places to lose your disc in the water (which is good and bad, really.) All in all a great course.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick HoveyThe Players Course › October 12, 2010
A-
-  +2 votes  + Ryan LepleyThe Players Course › October 17, 2010
B+
Very cool and scenic layout. Love the disc catcher baskets. Pro tee's are nice but the AM tee's are non existent. Very technical course. A bit too hard for me, but thats probably how it shoud be from the pro tee's. I would like to see better tee signs and the short tee's put in.
-  +1 votes  + Nathan HerronThe Players Course › November 9, 2010
B+
just needs a little clean up but for the first year it is in great shape
-  -2 votes  + Lance BaylissThe Players Course › November 24, 2010
B
Played it @ worlds. Pretty nice setup as far as the course setup and the veriety of holes. More "true lines" on some the the holes would be nice. And better signs.
-  +1 votes  + John number nineThe Players Course › May 23, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jay KovachThe Players Course › August 11, 2011
B
Grass needed mowed, nice course my kinda layout ob caught me off guard on the island hole.
-  +0 votes  + John SalesThe Players Course › September 28, 2011
B
I rate this course 3.5 out of 5 stars. Pros - Very beautiful and heavily wooded course. The forest here is thick and you feel like you are deep into nature once the road is out of site. The terrain is easy to walk on but because of a lot of roots and bumps you’ll find rollers and skip shots hindered. - Because this course is so technical you really will use a plethora (3 amigos!) of shots to keep yourself out of some of the thick rough and also to get yourself out of trouble once you ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + John BellmanThe Players Course › December 9, 2011
A+
Doesn't get more challenging then this course. A great mixture of short and long holes. Complete with fantastic views and water shots that take precision or your wet. One of my all time favorite courses.
-  +1 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester"The Players Course › February 8, 2012
A-
There was a bunch of flooded area's but it was still fun. Lost two disc's but wth, Right?
-  +0 votes  + Ken SampsonThe Players Course › September 13, 2012
B-
Beautiful setting; but I am not a fan of water hazards. Many fairways are too tight for an intermediate player.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron CollinsThe Players Course › April 10, 2013
B+
Chuck Custer has done it again. a highly enjoyable course with some challenging water hazards a few long holes and more trees than you can shake a stick at. Not for beginners but not necessarily for pros either. one of the best intermediate courses around. Always a blast!
-  +0 votes  + DETROIT JThe Players Course › April 11, 2013
B+
Really fun course ! probably my 5th favorite in Ohio.
-  +0 votes  + Brandon JordanThe Players Course › April 19, 2013
A
'twas a windy day
-  +0 votes  + Dru FuranThe Players Course › August 23, 2013
B
Pros: This course will require every shot in your bag. It plays very technical and tight with a few breathing holes. Not for the faint of heart and could scare the beginner but boy is it fun. Woods! And, lots of them. Water also comes into play and frames some of the more scenic holes on the course. The baskets are in good condition. The tee pads are in good condition. But, they should be at every tee position similar to the Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC. Cons: Slight over growth in some area ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Phil TuckerThe Players Course › August 25, 2013
A
good stuff... sure can be nasty though
-  +0 votes  + Chris S.The Players Course › January 3, 2014
A-
Getting better with play....but always a challenge ...some times more so mentally than physically .
-  +0 votes  + Glenn BurtisThe Players Course › January 7, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brian BellThe Players Course › March 21, 2014
B-
Concrete pad for all holes, but not all holes with short and long tees have both marked, and few have both tee pads. Listed tee distances are questionable. Course needs maintenance (fallen trees, vandalized signs, etc.). However layout is very nice.
-  +0 votes  + Michael HThe Players Course › April 27, 2014
D
The people were great. However, the course was, in my opinion, poorly put together in certain areas. I think there is a difference between a well placed technical woods shot and a game of plinko. The water areas were fun to play and an easy Hyzer will keep you safe. There was a lot of cut up trees, lumber, in the way. All in all, not the worst golf course, but definitely far from good for me. Glad I could be part of such a good cause for the tournament Aces for Autism.
-  +0 votes  + Chris MahaffeyThe Players Course › May 11, 2014
A-
The back nine still needs a lil clean up but over all this is one of the best courses I have played to date. Holes 4 5 and 6 were my favorite 6 being over all going across the bay. Very nice set up and glad I was able to play it.
-  +0 votes  + Tony WilliamsThe Players Course › May 16, 2014
B-
-  +0 votes  + Nic RehlThe Players Course › December 15, 2014
B