Air Zoo

Portage, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Cody L Smith › April 6, 2014
C
Baskets bases or "greens" could definitely be replaced with woodchips
-  +0 votes  + Jordan Snyder › November 15, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Zoltan Kocsondy › September 21, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Justin Dore › September 16, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Moses Pigeon › September 2, 2013
B+
I didn't like the 18th hole since they changed it but the course is decent. Quite a few short holes giving great birdie/ace chances. More open than wooded.
-  +0 votes  + Landon Satterfield › August 18, 2013
C-
Its a disc golf course at least. Great novice course and practice course.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Black › August 17, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Jacquelyn Jackson › August 15, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Paul Pineda › August 12, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Jason Rocks › August 8, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Chance Vineyard-Crouch › September 8, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Curtis S › July 23, 2013
B+
Good course, will work your Fairway drives. Great for newish players.
-  +0 votes  + Floyd Genovese › July 21, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Jc Clardy › July 18, 2013
B-
Tees are caving in from mud underneath, trash everywhere because people dont know how to respect the course they play. nice hole layout but no elevation changes at all, 1 water hole #18 adds some excitement.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Person › June 20, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + doug smith › June 14, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Bryan Mahar › June 2, 2013
C+
If you can throw 325 feet you can basically have a run at all 18 baskets. There is some trouble back in the woods if you aren't accurate with your midrange/putter driving. It's a great place to work on your 200-260 game. It was defnitely a fun course to score on. Rubber tee pads are a huge negative. Easy to follow layout but the first sign you see looks like it could be 1 but its actually 3. You need to keep going to the back corner of the left (as you pull in) parking lot. All in all it is a fun course to play and really lets you work on the more precise parts of your game.
-  +0 votes  + Erik Pierson › June 1, 2013
A-
If you find a Raspberry sidewinder that says esp on it, if you call the number you will get a reward
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Goodwin › May 30, 2013
B-
Rubber tee pads, somewhat windy, many families and young players, but course is fairly well kept and has many different shot variations
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Jouppi › April 26, 2013
B
Fun course for all skill levels. Some nice ace runs here. Ability to deal with wind from all directions and on all shot types is a must to shoot exceptionally well.
-  +0 votes  + Jason Adams › April 22, 2013
A
The Airzoo is a great course for beginners and also a wonderful way of practicing your short game. The open spaces also allow for you to work on and perfect your throwing techniques.
-  +0 votes  + alex tiernan › April 4, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Dominic Nelson › November 17, 2012
B-
just a quick dinker of a course, if you need midrange work this is a great place to work em out. You should only need a driver off of 1 maybe 2 and 13. But I do love running everything so boost your confidence and bang some chains at the zoo
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Holmes › October 9, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Chris Craft › October 8, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Dean Cugs › April 2, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Matt Edick Sr. › September 28, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + james cadwell › September 25, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Pj Reed › September 21, 2012
B-
-  +1 votes  + Matt Johns › September 16, 2012
A-
Love how everybody says beginner, but course record is -6. Why dont we just take it as it is, A beautiful addition to the areas courses. Hmm loved it myself and wont hesitate to play again, anytime im in the area. Also only thing wrong, was that the tee pads needed to be broomed up :) thx flight club dubs
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Roberson › September 14, 2012
B-
Windy....typical airzoo. BROOM THEM TEEPADS BOY!
-  +0 votes  + Mark "Coach D" Di Mambro › August 31, 2012
B+
Nice!
-  +0 votes  + Tim Stecker › August 26, 2012
A
love the zoo
-  +0 votes  + Nate Knox › August 24, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Nate Smith › August 19, 2012
B
Went to the Air Zoo for a weekend trip and saw the course across the parking lot. Convinced my wife to play before we went to our hotel. Two kids in tow we played and had a blast. A couple long open holes that required a long drive to birdie or par. Some ace runs in woods that I enjoyed finding the right line and disc to throw, while my 6 year old son was jazzed to par. Course was clean, compared to the other courses we played in the K zoo area that weekend. It was extremely busy, many ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Benjamin Zomberg › August 9, 2012
B
I normally hit up 4 holes on my lunch time (Holes 1, 2, 12, 13). Hole 1 tee is great place to launch new discs to see how they feel. If you want to play hole 1 modified, try throwing from the road behind the tee. Great beginner course but would love to see cement tees in. Its a great mix between open field and woods for the beginners. Great introduction to disc golf for beginners.
-  +0 votes  + Nathan T › August 1, 2012
C
Beginner course.
-  +0 votes  + Jonathan Trapane › July 31, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Joel Cook › April 23, 2013
B+
I play this course quite a bit. Rewarding,can get in trouble if not careful. Can get birdies on each "hole" but not a piece of cake. Would be much nicer if they got rid of the rubber mats, someone is going to get hurt sliding on them.
-  +0 votes  + Scott Pierzchala › July 23, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Brian Reyva › July 19, 2012
B-
-  +1 votes  + Bryan Jones › July 18, 2012
B+
Great course for beginners or if you want to test a new disc. Can usually get through a game pretty quickly.
-  +0 votes  + Jesse Fraim › October 22, 2012
B-
Nice and short for beginners, lots of Ace runs for more advanced players, and always a confidence booster. The more I play it, the more I like it!
-  +0 votes  + Michael Frey › June 30, 2012
B+
short and quick. 5 minute drive for me to get there. They keep it clean pretty good. Early morning is best time to go. In the evening you will be dealing with large groups of either high schoolers or familys.

18 holes, 4 or 5 wide open ones to drive. longest hole is approximately 320, shortest is probably is just over 200. some nice wooded holes also.
-  +0 votes  + Noah Reynolds › June 20, 2012
A
Great course, mainly wooded with some open
-  +2 votes  + Adam Reynolds › June 20, 2012
A
Underrated course, good balance of open holes and wooded holes. Not too challenging but not a cake walk either.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff bridges › June 7, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Johnathan Streeter › June 7, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Matthew Maynard › June 7, 2012
B
Beginner Course, short holes, still relatively fun to play.
-  -5 votes  + john jeff carter › June 2, 2012
D+
course needed benches the frist hole was hard to find two large starts signs we needed one. grass was mowed the tee boxes were in disaray rubber mats all in all great starter course and fun to play alot of people on a weekend day.
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Haag › May 30, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Christopher Jones › May 30, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Lance Pierce › May 27, 2012
B+
Great beginners course and fairways look really nice mowed they way they are now.
-  +0 votes  + Toby Nichols › May 24, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Travis Duncan › May 22, 2012
A-
Nice course, great for beginners. Just need to keep the grass cut... 16 and 17 especially they are surrounded by grass as tall as I.
-  +0 votes  + Dylan Lemley › May 15, 2012
C+
-  -1 votes  + Shane lemley › May 12, 2012
A-
Very nice
-  +0 votes  + Mike Williams › May 7, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Joshua Bloomfield › May 7, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + andy schroeder › May 5, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Chapman › April 29, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Robert Davis › July 22, 2012
A
I like Air Zoo. Close to my house, free, and well maintained. Not too crowded and good parking.
-  +0 votes  + Nathan Stover › April 19, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Travis tullis › April 18, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + chris Rumage › April 4, 2012
B+
flowers starting to bloom
-  +0 votes  + Liam Cleary › January 31, 2012
B-
Really easy course, good place to play a quick round. overall a pretty fun course
-  -1 votes  + Jay Williams › November 8, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Shawn McCloskey › November 3, 2011
C+
-  +0 votes  + Jonathan Hon › October 12, 2011
C
A nice course to play a quick 18 before the sun goes down
-  +0 votes  + Andrew Nazarians › October 5, 2011
B+
well the course is good, the main thing i like about it is that it's only about 1 1/2 miles from where i work, so when i get out at 5:30 am i jet over there and play a round with no waiting lol
-  +0 votes  + Andy Engilsh › October 3, 2011
C+
-  +0 votes  + Jimmy Jean › September 21, 2011
B+
Basket for 18th hole is STILL not there!
-  +0 votes  + Amy Paff › August 8, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Becky Gilbert › July 22, 2011
A-
Not alot of long holes which is good! Enjoyed the wooded holes. Get to watch planes land. Air museum
-  +0 votes  + Beege Jaquays › July 9, 2011
B+
-  -1 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
C
Needs 9 more longer holes
-  +0 votes  + Marty Metheringham › June 26, 2011
B+
Nice little course
-  -1 votes  + Alexander Ayers › June 20, 2011
A
Great Course love night discing there its so much fun, the course is well groomed everytime ive been.
-  +0 votes  + Matthew Babineaux › June 9, 2011
C
-  +0 votes  + Jason Higley › May 26, 2011
B
nice new short course, very open/lots of trees
-  +0 votes  + Jerry Phelps › May 15, 2011
C
Good course for beginners like me. Mostly open areas and all par 3 holes.
-  -2 votes  + Brian DeVries › August 1, 2013
C-
too short. too beginner friendly. needs Pro tee pads. nothing over 350' a BUZZZ course for sure. Kinda Boring.
-  +1 votes  + Tate Handy › May 4, 2011
C
It's a little short, but it was how the course was meant.
-  -1 votes  + Josh Lacey › April 23, 2011
B
Fun, simple course.
-  -1 votes  + Michael Schmock › April 11, 2011
B
-  -2 votes  + Matt "Shmo" Michaels › April 21, 2011
A-
-  +3 votes  + Kasandra "Tank Girl" Fox › April 7, 2011
B
I took my daughter to the Air Zoo to look around at all the planes. Was this the best course i've been to? No. but was it a major plus for something to do afterward... YES! it was a cute, lightly wooded, beginners course.
-  -1 votes  + Mulligan McGee › April 6, 2011
B+
just played the new holes and they're a lot of fun. definitely a good course to pull more skill out of a beginner. My only worry is how many bramble bushes there are in 2-9 if its not kept up it could be a real problem
-  +0 votes  + Nick Bosovich › May 22, 2011
B
fun course thats pretty open with some straight wooded holes that have pricker bushes on either side of the fairway... only need like 4 discs for this beginner course
-  -2 votes  + Ryan Fern › April 3, 2011
B+
very very tough with the wind in play short course but ok pin location
-  +0 votes  + ron dolnik › March 30, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Wade TF › March 28, 2011
B
Nice and fair beginner course with nice baskets and flypads. Right off I94 a great stop for any quick round. Good flow and the deuces never stop. Hit chains on hole 4 first time playing new holes 3-11. Holes 4 and 10 do not currently have flypads but they are coming soon. Some stumps still need to be removed. The course will beat in just fine and be a great addition to Kalamazoo disc golf.
-  -2 votes  + David Hedstrom › March 27, 2011
B-
I like the Air Zoo quite a bit more now that the second 9 holes are in the ground. The layout flows well, tees are good (flypads). New 9 holes reside mostly in the woods. A bunch of them are ace runs but a few are more challenging and are pretty fun. My only critiques of the course would be to move some of the pads to a location that is more challenging but still being easy enough to maintain the beginner friendly nature the course has, holes 5 and 11 come to mind both could be in more challengi ...
continue reading ›
-  -2 votes  + Randy Gallagher › March 26, 2011
B
-  -1 votes  + Justin Goldsmith › August 23, 2011
B-
Its a nice beginner course. half in the woods, half open. Glad to see they got it finished. Nicely mowed fairways. Not so over-grown anymore.
-  -2 votes  + Collins Nance › April 19, 2012
C
-  -2 votes  + MEAT BABY › March 16, 2011
B-
I will rate higher when complete
-  -5 votes  + Corey Kieft › March 16, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + joe witt › March 14, 2011
B+
open and fun
-  +0 votes  + Josh Ivens › March 11, 2011
B+
-  -4 votes  + Austin McCollum › March 26, 2011
C+
At this very moment this course is a birdie or die course, there is not a single hole that is not birdiebal. I know that there is only 9 holes at this moment but knowing Larry this course will become a better and longer course. The new 9 holes r pretty good, you def have to hit ur line. The holes r not to long but they can pose a challenge. the question now is, will this course stay kept up?
-  -1 votes  + Andy SmithFactory › June 6, 2011
B+
For the land given it's a good course. Needs cement pads but will never happen. A lot of short holes but still pretty tough.
-  -2 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › April 12, 2011
B-
Good use of land and some good holes for what was there to work with.Concentration is a challenge with traffic driving by you on Portage rd for a couple holes. I like the woods holes the best! Nice job Larry!!! Par on every hole is not a stretch.
-  +2 votes  + Kyle Jansen van Galen › March 2, 2012
B-
All 18 holes are in now. +: Baskets were amazing, obviously they are brand new, but the baskets had durable inner and outer chains and they caught as good as they looked. Pin locations were great for the land offered, some of which had tree cover and made you choose a route for midrange/approach shots. Easy to navigate despite no signs.(If you look now Larry has posted the hole lengths under talk) +/-: No signage or concrete pads at the moment but I expect them to be put in when it thaws so ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Nate Simpson › January 15, 2011
C