eric centanni January 26, 2013 at 6:42am
1-26-13 scramble at hudson is cancelled. we are all going to punderson for their ice bowl.
Jon DeCapua January 9, 2013 at 9:55am
On behalf of Dave Smith:
I lost a disc at Hudson this past sunday in the snow. hole 18, a little more than half way to the basket. a red blizzard wraith, with my name & phone on it. I would appreciate a call it anyone finds it.
Jon DeCapua January 5, 2013 at 7:39am
scrambles are cancelled today 1/5 due to the frozen finger fairway tour that's starting today at sims park. cheers!
Joshua Lammerding December 30, 2012 at 5:19pm
Planning a work day for after the snow melts enough for us to drive in, down at Churchill Park DGC clearing fairways and putting up some natural targets so we can play and figure out the layout for when we get the baskets and tee pads in.
Have: Gloves, Boots, Cutting Implement.
I will bring for us to use: Twine, Drill, Screws, Saws, Shovels, Rakes and more.
If anyone can help, get a hold of me. I'll try to make it for a day when the most people are available.
Corey Nufer December 17, 2012 at 10:10am
Hey everyone! We here at Knollwood are trying to raise money for merchandise to sell for our cleanup and improvement efforts. Follow the link at the bottom of this message for a full description, a short video presentation, and the opportunity to either donate, or share my message with others.
I have just heard that the director of the City of Kalamazoo Parks department has resigned, so we have a new opportunity to truly change the image of Knollwood.
Jon DeCapua December 14, 2012 at 11:33am
i just posted some trade stuff in the "trading post" of this sight. Ya'll get first dibs if interested.
eric centanni December 10, 2012 at 6:59pm
greg is right. i poured through the rule book and couldn't find the rule that used to state that the obstacle could not be in front of your lie. it must have been changed in the recent years.
Greg Platt December 9, 2012 at 8:44pm
It doesn't matter if the branch extends in front of your lie,if it obstructs your stance,you can move it.
Andy Morrison December 9, 2012 at 6:44pm
It is surprising to see how many people, even in PDGA tournaments, that do not know these things. Good stuff. The one I'm always gray on is a downed dead branch that starts a few feet in front of your disc and extends through your lie and beyond where your stance would be if it were physically possible. My understanding is you cannot move it because it starts in front of your lie. Is this true?
eric centanni December 9, 2012 at 6:26pm
you are referencing the casual relief section, and yes, it is true. i have seen and used that casual relief many times, especially in inclament weather.
Bob Becker December 9, 2012 at 6:06pm
It is my understanding that if a disc lands on a pile of brush, you can take up to 5 meters of relief behind the disc, since you get relief from downed limbs but the are not really movable.is this true?
eric centanni December 9, 2012 at 5:52pm
This would probably be one of the most important sections of rules that any player should read and understand. You could help or hurt yourself in many situations during tournament play with this set of rules.
eric centanni December 9, 2012 at 5:46pm
Rule of the week: A. After each throw, the thrown disc must be left where it came to rest until the lie is established by the placing of a marker. This can be done by placing a mini marker disc on the playing surface between the hole and the disc, directly in line with the hole, on the line of play, touching the thrown disc. A player may instead choose, without touching or repositioning the thrown disc, to use the thrown disc as the marker. The marker may not be moved until the throw is release ... more
Rule of the week:
A. After each throw, the thrown disc must be left where it came to rest until the lie is established by the placing of a marker. This can be done by placing a mini marker disc on the playing surface between the hole and the disc, directly in line with the hole, on the line of play, touching the thrown disc. A player may instead choose, without touching or repositioning the thrown disc, to use the thrown disc as the marker. The marker may not be moved until the throw is released. A marker inadvertently moved prior to the throw shall be returned to its correct location.
B. A player is only required to mark the lie with a mini marker disc when repositioning the lie under the rules. This includes the following rules: out-of-bounds, disc above or below the playing surface, lost disc, optional rethrow, relocated for relief, interference, or repositioning the lie within 1 meter of the out-of-bounds line.
C. If the thrown disc comes to rest in-bounds but within one meter of an out-of-bounds line, the lie may be relocated to any point on a one-meter line that extends perpendicularly from the nearest point on the out-of-bounds line, and passes through the center of the thrown disc. This holds true even if the direction takes the lie closer to the hole. See the following sections for other considerations in marking a thrown disc:
(1) Relocated for relief - 803.05 B, C
(2) Interference - 803.07 A, B
(3) Above or below the playing surface - 803.08 A, B
(4) Out-of-Bounds - 803.09 B
(5) Lost Disc- 803.11 B
D. The Rule of Verticality: The out-of-bounds line represents a vertical plane. Where a
player's lie is marked from a particular point within one meter of the out-of-bounds line
pursuant to the rules, the one-meter relief may be taken from the particular point upward or
downward along the vertical plane.
E. If the thrown disc breaks and comes to rest in more than one piece, the largest piece, as
agreed to by a majority of the group or an official, is deemed to be the thrown disc.
F. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only
by the action of the water or the wind on the water.
G. A player shall receive a warning for the first violation of a marking rule if observed by
two or more players of the group or an official. One penalty throw shall be assessed for each
subsequent violation of any marking rule during the round if observed by two or more players of
the group or an official.
Mike Broda December 5, 2012 at 12:56pm
Findley state park. Rt 18 an 83. Enter south of 18 off 83. Make a right an bear right till you see holes 1 and 2 off to the right in a clearing. Wellington is the city I believe
Dan'hyzer' Kilgore December 5, 2012 at 8:36am
could someone please tell me the name of the Lorain county course? and how to get there.
eric centanni December 4, 2012 at 3:09pm
well... the act you speak of can be hard to avoid. if it is done literally you may be disqualified from an event. figuratively speaking of this defacation, you may have to work that out in your head. most of the time, a player just gets tired of leaving stink juice all over the course and has what alcoholics refer to as a moment of clarity. they then return home, wash off that cloak of failure and decide to practice more often.
when you are playing a round for scores, you should be showing off the skills you learned on the practice green. never thinking about how to play. just play.